Posted by: Cailyn | November 6, 2009

Coconut Butter Bites

1102_4804 

If you’ve been reading this (sadly neglected) blog or the various sources we’ve cited, you’ll know the great benefits of coconut.  Here’s a quick recap, though.

Coconut is not only delicious, it’s a good source of medium-chain saturated fats.  Why are medium-chain fats good?  Because they can be absorbed directly instead of having to be broken down in the gut.  This is great for some quick, long-lasting energy and perfect for people who may have trouble digesting fats because of some digestive problems caused by a high-carb lifestyle.  Coconuts are 90% saturated fat- and who here doesn’t love saturated fat?  Saturated fat is used all over your body and improves your cholesterol, immune system and your general sense of well-being.  (This high amount of saturated fat is why coconut oil is solid at room temperature, like beef fat or lard.)  Coconut is particularly good for boosting your immune system because the main saturated fat in coconut is lauric acid (this turns into monolaurin in the body).  Lauric acid is antimicrobial and not only prevents pathogens from setting up camp in your body, it can convince them to high-tail it out if they have moved in.  Great news during flu season, right?

Of course, coconut also has good vitamins and minerals as well as a large amount of fiber.  It also tastes sweet but doesn’t contain a lot of sugar.  Coconut oil is an even better source of lauric acid than raw coconut.  Coconut oil is a great way to get some extra fat, because a paleo lifestyle should be a high-fat lifestyle.  But let’s face it, very few of us want to choke down a spoonful or two of room temperature coconut oil or even melt it in some tea and drink it.  I have found a solution that, if I may say so myself, is genius.  Read on.

There is a company, Premier Organics, that makes Artisana raw nut butters.  They make a coconut butter that is so dangerously delicious, it should be labeled as a controlled substance.  The coconut butter is nothing but 100% coconut- no added sugar, salt, or oils.  The only problem with this stuff is that it, like coconut oil, is solid at room temperature and with all the coconut solids in the mix, it can be as hard to scoop out of the jar until it’s warmed up.  The butter is pretty good when it’s melted but personally, I like to eat the coconut butter on the solid side, like a sweet truffle.  The butter then melts on my tongue and feels incredibly decadent.  After much thought, I have come up with the following recipe.  This recipe not only makes eating coconut butter easy, it’s portable and shelf-stable, it’s got extra coconut oil, and it’s fun!

If you like this recipe, this site sells the coconut butter in 8lb or 16lb buckets which is cheaper than buying individual jars.

102_4779

Coconut Butter Bites

Gently heat the coconut butter and oil (if using) until they are liquid.  I fill a large pot with water, put the jars in, and keep it on a low simmer until everything is melted.  You don’t want to cook the jars, just soften them.  A crockpot would work too, or a low-temperature oven, or a double boiler.

Pour some of the coconut butter into a small bowl.  If you want, add some coconut oil until the mixture is kind of thin. This isn’t a science- if there’s too much oil, the finished bites will be a bit oilier and if there’s too little oil, the finished bites will be a little drier.  I usually add about 1/3 as much coconut oil as butter (so if I have 1 cup butter, I add an extra 1/3 cup of oil- but I don’t really measure.)

Pour the mixture into the ice cube tray. The mixture will expand as it cools, so leave a little room at the top.  Gently tap the tray on the counter to bring any air bubbles to the surface.

Let set either at room temperature or in the fridge for a faster set.

Pop out of tray and enjoy.  I store my finished bites in glass jars in the pantry.  The bites can stay out of the fridge as long as your ambient temperature is below about 80 degrees F; any warmer than that and they’ll start to melt.

Here’s the nutrition information (also found on the jar of coconut butter).  Remember that fiber doesn’t really count as a “carb”- subtract the grams of fiber from the grams of total carbs for the actual carb load!

image

 

Bored of plain coconut butter?  Try these additives for variety!

Coconut Crunch

Add dried, shredded coconut (unsweetened of course!) to the butter/oil mix.  I like to add a lot of shredded coconut for a serious crunch.  Once the bites set, the coconut adds a nice crunch, almost like a Nestle Crunch bar, as well as adding more coconut taste.  You can usually get shredded coconut in the bulk section of natural markets for cheaper.

Harvest Spice

Add some nutmeg, cinnamon, and quality vanilla extract to the mixture.  Add a little at a time and taste as you go to find the right amount of spices for you.  Unlike most applications, you can really taste the difference between average and high quality vanilla in these bites.  It’s worth a bit of a splurge.

Chocolate Divine

Add a tablespoon or two of raw cacao powder and quality vanilla to the mixture.  Depending on your cacao tolerance, you might need to add a touch of sweetener to mellow some of the bitterness of the chocolate.  I add just a small drizzle of honey when I make this one; remember that coconut is naturally sweet.  Don’t forget to taste as you add things!  This one tastes like hot cocoa to me; the more cacao you add, the darker the chocolate- add just a little for a milk chocolaty taste. 

Dark Chocolate Crunch

Add some shredded coconut to the Chocolate Divine and revel in the decadence of living a paleo lifestyle.

Mexican Chocolate Supreme

Add cinnamon and a little chile powder to the Chocolate Divine. (Go easy on the chile powder; it’s flavorful.)  This one’s Lowell’s favorite.

Chocolate Raspberry

Add some roughly crumbled freeze-dried raspberries (or other fruit; I like Just Fruit) to the Chocolate Divine.  The freeze-dried fruit stays pretty crunchy, but does add some trace carbs.  I might try this one with some freeze-dried bananas.  Try this add-in in the plain coconut ones too- coconut and strawberry is delicious!

Chocolate Almond

Add some slivered almonds (try toasting them first) in with the Chocolate Divine.

Peppermint Hot Chocolate

Add some peppermint extract to the Chocolate Divine.  Just a little goes a long way.  These are great around Christmas time.

Lime-in-da-Coconut

Add some fresh lime zest and lime juice or extract.  To avoid excess liquid if using lime juice, boil the juice for a minute or so to get a concentrated “syrup.”  It’s powerful stuff, so you don’t need much of it for a nice lime kick, just a tsp or two.

Other ideas

Add food coloring to any of the above for a fun look or swirl together plain coconut and chocolate.

Add other flavor extracts, like hazelnut, lemon, coffee or peppermint. 

Add a small amount of chopped low-sugar dried fruit, like goji berries or cranberries (not the sweetened kind), or maybe cacao nibs or espresso beans.  Remember that these will add some extra carbs (fruits) and caffeine (nibs and beans).  I like the freeze dried fruit because they stay crunchy in the coconut and there’s no added ingredients.

Add finely chopped/ground nuts (someone suggested adding almond flour– sounds tasty!)

I have some silicon ice cube trays from Ikea that make flower- and fish-shaped "ice cubes."  I make all my plain coconut bites as fish and all my crunch bites as flowers.  I’ve measured the indentations and each one holds about a tablespoon of liquid, which is just about as much coconut butter as I can eat at one time.  (I also use these molds when I make regular butter.)  The trays usually aren’t expensive- get a collection of fun shapes and go nuts with it!  I just found some penguin ones.  Mmm, chocolate penguins…

102_4791

Responses

  1. […] 20- Cailyn @ Correlation is Not Causation Coconut Butter Bites- Delicious and Convenient! […]

  2. prettyand healthy idea!

  3. Thanks! Cailyn is completely addicted to these. We just got back from our Thanksgiving trip to Virginia, and kept a bag of these with us for snacking on the plane and around… mmm… incredibly satisfying and filling on the go.

  4. Yo Cailyn,

    Recipe is awesome!

    DO you happed to have any nutritional info on these coconut butter bites? You know grams of carbs/protein/fat, calories, etc?

    Would love to see.
    Dave

  5. […] so ingenious that I think they deserve their own post. I first discovered coconut butter bites here, and I just had to try them myself. They are a great way to add some good fat to your diet and […]

  6. […] dehydrated coconut meat, solid at room temperature, liquid when you heat it up. This recipe for Coconut Butter Bites is to die for. It’s like dessert – perfect for when you’re having a sweet […]

  7. Just to let you know your webpage looks a little bit strange on Firefox on my pc with Linux .

  8. While I truly like this publish, I think there was an punctuational error near towards the end from the 3rd section.

  9. Please email me with any hints about how you made your website look this cool , Id be thankful!

  10. I had been curious about if you ever considered adjusting the design of your site? It is very well written; I love what youve got to state. But maybe you can create a little more in the way of written content so people could connect with it better. You have got an awful lot of text for only having one or two photos. Maybe you could space it out better?

  11. Weird , your site turns up with a dark color to it, what shade is the primary color on your site?

  12. The majority of of the remarks on this blog page dont make sense.

  13. An insightful blog post there mate ! Thank you for posting !

  14. It looks to me that this website doesnt download on a Motorola Droid. Are other folks getting the exact same problem? I like this site and dont want to have to miss it when Im away from my computer.

  15. Have you considered adding some social bookmarking links to these blogs. At the very least for flickr.

  16. This website has lots of really useful info on it! Thank you for helping me.

  17. Awesome post ! Thanks for, posting on this blog page man. Ill email you some time. I did not realise that.

  18. If you could message me with a few hints & tips about how you made your site look this cool, Id appreciate it!

  19. Re: The person who made the comment that this was an excellent internet site really needs to have their head looked at.

  20. Have you given any kind of consideration at all with translating your web-site into French? I know a small number of translaters right here that might help you do it for no cost if you wanna contact me personally.

  21. It appears to me that this site doesnt download on a Motorola Droid. Are other people getting the exact same issue? I enjoy this blog and dont want to have to skip it any time Im away from my computer.

  22. Most of the remarks on this particular blog site dont make sense.

  23. How come you do not have your web site viewable in mobile format? cant see anything in my iPhone.

  24. Have you considered including some social bookmarking buttons to these sites. At the very least for bebo.

  25. Do youve a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your scenario; weve created some nice methods and we are searching to exchange solutions with other individuals, be positive to blast me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

  26. I Am Going To have to come back again whenever my course load lets up – nonetheless I am getting your Feed so i could read your blog offline. Thanks.

  27. If you could message me with a few tips about how you made your site look this good, Id be thankful!

  28. This blog site has got some really helpful stuff on it! Cheers for sharing it with me!

  29. I like the site layout . How was it made. It is rather cool!

  30. Do youve a spam issue on this web site; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your situation; we have developed some nice approaches and were searching to swap solutions with other people, be positive to fire me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

  31. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Feed isnt functioning today. I tried adding it to my Google reader account and got nothing.

  32. I tried viewing your web site with my mobile phone and the layout does not seem to be correct. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellular phone layouts are not really working with your website.

  33. This website is really cool. How did you make it .

  34. Have you thought about adding some differing opinions to the article? I think it will really enhance everyones understanding.

  35. If you dont mind, where do you host your website? I am searching for a good host and your website appears to be extremely fast and up most the time

  36. I had been wondering if you ever thought of modifying the design of your blog? Its very well written; I really like what youve got to state. But maybe you could include a a bit more in the way of content so people can connect to it better. You have got a great deal of wording for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you can space it out better?

  37. Could you message me with a few tips on how you made this site look this awesome, I would appreciate it.

  38. I like this website layout . How was it made? It is rather good.

  39. Re: Whoever created the comment that this was a great site actually needs to possess their head analyzed.

  40. The design for the site is a little bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your weblog. I may need to install a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  41. When I at first commented I clicked the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and now every time a remark is added I get four emails with the exact same comment.

  42. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your website? I am shopping for a great web host and your webpage seams to be extremely fast and up all the time

  43. It looks to me that this site doesnt load on a Motorola Droid. Are other folks getting the exact same issue? I like this web site and dont want to have to skip it whenever Im gone from my computer.

  44. I tried viewing your web site on my iphone and the layout doesnt seem to be correct. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most smartphone layouts are not working with your web site.

  45. I had been wondering if you ever considered replacing the design of your site? Its very well written; I enjoy what you have got to say. But maybe you could include a a bit more in the way of written content so people can connect to it better. Youve got a great deal of wording for only having one or two photographs. Maybe you can space it out better?

  46. A insightful post there mate . Cheers for that !

  47. This blog site is really good. How was it made ?

  48. The structure for your web site is a bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your weblog. I may need to use a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  49. As soon as I originally commented I clicked on the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and currently every time a remark is added I get four messages with the exact same comment.

  50. I feel one of your current ads initiated my internet browser to resize, you may well need to put that on your blacklist.

  51. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Feed is not functioning today. I tried adding it to my Bing reader account and got absolutely nothing.

  52. Just to let you know your webpage looks a little bit strange in Safari on my computer using Linux .


Leave a Reply

Categories

