Posted by: Lowell | April 19, 2009

I’ll just have a glass of milk… from THAT cow

photo(6)

The Simpsons’ Mr. Burns (choosing a cow to kill): I’ll have that cow. (waiter kills cow) Oh, didn’t put much of a fight. I’ll have that cow. (waiter kills another cow) Hmm. Why don’t you pick a cow for me? (waiter, annoyed, kills another cow) On second thought, I’ll just have a glass of milk…from that cow. (a white cow makes a surprised noise. The waiter kills the cow)

Okay, so no cow killing.  But this particular Simpsons quote came to mind… I’ve been busy doing research (got a few books the other day, lots of reading to do) and haven’t had time to continue working on the recommendations portion of the site here.  I promise, that’s coming.  In the meantime, an update on what we’ve been doing personally in the nutrition space:

Beautiful weather today; I drove down to Meadowwood Organic Farm in Enumclaw, WA for the first time.  Rolled down the windows, opened the sunroof, put on some music and enjoyed a 40 minute drive over Tiger Mountain pass and through some great rural country and two-lane highways.

Cailyn posted recently about our switch to raw dairy products (well, I did too), and in particular increasing our use of butter, cream, and (as carbs allow) raw whole milk (we already used a lot of cheese).  We can find raw milk from Jackie’s Jersey Milk and Dungeness Valley Creamery at Whole Foods and PCC, but since we’re trying to keep carb intake extremely low during our weight-loss phase (before we move to our more long-term and open, but still naturally low-carb, real-food approach) we have a preference for butter and cream for now.  It’s pretty wasteful to buy whole milk and just use the cream, so I’ve been looking for a better solution.

It turns out that, as best I can tell, the only source of raw cream (raw butter cannot be sold in Washington by law—but it’s extremely easy to make at home from cream) is Meadowwood in Enumclaw.  It’s about 30 miles from here.  Tom and Darlene Silliman run the place, and tend a handful of cows, goats, chickens, and other animals on 13 acres.  It’s a model of local, sustainable food and incredibly healthy.  It doesn’t get better than this.

When I arrived I saw all the animals out in the front munching on the abundant green grass, and the Sillimans talking out on their front porch enjoying the sun.  The operation is mostly self-serve, but Tom came over to ask me if I had any questions.  I was actually looking to pick up a bit more cream than was currently in the fridge, so he came on in with me and skimmed some more for me and made up two more pints.  He said to just send an email or call a few days before I drive down whenever and let them know what I’m looking for, and he’ll have it ready.  They have one customer who comes by every once in a while who gets a gallon of cream each time—they have to build it up for a few days to get enough ready.

Anyhow, they’re both great people, and the farm was wonderful.

Cailyn and I have 4 pints of the raw cream sitting out on the counter now, getting ready to make butter.  3-4 days of culturing and then later this week… the magic happens.  In the meantime, we’re enjoying the other milk and cream for our coffee and other drinks.

It’s pretty cool to know exactly where your milk comes from.  I got mine from Buttercup:

photo(7)

Responses

  1. Not every glass of milk deserves a name!

    Still, sounds like a fun excursion.


Leave a Reply

Categories

